Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Surprise Surprise


I've hinted at this before but one of the most attractive traits of the scooter is that is has nothing to prove. People mostly want to know how fast they go, then how many miles to the gallon they get and then lastly how much it costs. Never would you get asked to do a wheelie at 60mph or show off your loud and obnoxious, chrome pipes. It's got 20 hp; I'm sure your John Deere has more juice than this puppy. It's a scooter...it just goes.

We're always being pushed to prove ourselves. Prove ourselves at work. Prove ourselves to our spouse. Prove ourselves to our friends....the last thing I care to do is provide proof of the things I purchase. But that doesn't mean I don't like to surprise...


Today, I wanted to surprise them. Much like when you see men on their morning commute with an electric shaver. They've transformed their car into their bathroom... while on the way to work... genius.


I rode to work this morning on my Vespa with a cup of coffee in my hand.


As if you were sitting in your desk and you'd hold up your coffee and give your colleague the morning 'nod,' that's what I did to oncoming traffic. Dangerous? Slightly; but well worth it. I even passed a motorcycle on the way but instead of nodding...I took a big sip right in front of him. Ahhh, take that Harley dude.


I think the lack of scooter adaptation in the states is due to people not thinking they're real world. They think they're a toy. They think they only go 30 mph. I love how people ask me how long it took to get somewhere and I reply, "just as long as it took you in your car." They think I had to leave a week ahead of them.


(And if it wasn't enough, after work, I went and bought a 12 pack of PBR and a pizza.) (It was the first time I ever bought beer in a can)


A scooter isn't for everyone...but for me, it's as real world as it gets.


"Hey look, that guy's on a scooter; and he's drinking coffee?"


Surprise Surprise!!

No comments:

Post a Comment